I Peter 5:12-13:True Grace

Now all this said and read,
The Gospel that I have declared,
Is the true grace in place,
In mercy we are standing there.
If standing in His grace,
How is that illustrated?
Here are three men of faith,
Who preached grace incarnated.

Silas followed Paul,
Who preached in Asia and in Greece.
In jails by grace assailed,
Through demonized, and mobs, and beasts.
And taking Peter’s letter,
While Paul was chained in Rome,
Despising death and fetter,
To preach, he left his home.

And she in Babylon,
Has also seen this grace described.
To Persia I have gone,
Confirming all those in Christ’s Bride.
For I would tend the seeds,
That other men have sown.
Feeding all the sheep,
Together grace has grown.

My son Mark too, greets you,
Who prayed for me when I was chained,
A writer, fighter, friend,
His school in Egypt now maintains.
So will you heed the call?
Like others holding no reserve.
Giving Christ your all,
In thanks, for grace is undeserved.

One thought on “I Peter 5:12-13:True Grace

  1. Today we looked at I Peter 5:12-13, where the Apostle Peter sums up his entire epistle in two words: True Grace. The Gospel is really the true grace of God. I can’t think of anything more gracious then God himself dying in the place of us heinous sinners. God is amazing! He is gracious, and He is true! Don’t forget that this Thanksgiving — that’s the best thing to be thankful for.
    Here, Peter also gives us three examples of people who lived their lives in light of this true grace, namely Silas, “She who is in Babylon,” and Mark. There is a bit of debate as to who exactly this person is who is in Babylon, but for the sake of my poem I’ve interpreted her to be the church that Peter planted in Babylon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

