Arise, O Lord! (Psalm 44:9-26)

I made the Lord my only boast,
I trusted in the Lord of Hosts.
Am I but worthless merchandise,
That You have sold me for no price?
I am a stigma to my foes.
I suffer under many blows.
I'm swarmed by sharks. I'm jackal's prey.
You called me dead and walked away.

I know that You did this to me;
To You I come for clarity.
Lord, from Your dormant state arise!
Exalt Yourself in worldly eyes.
O Lord, Your enemies run free,
Rebelling with impunity.

Bring justice! Snatch me from the grave.
Arise, O Lord, be strong to save!
It is for You that we are slain,
Are raped, dismembered, suffer pain.
And yet of this I still am sure:
That we are more than conquerors,
Since we are Yours, that is enough --
And naught can wrest us from Your love.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.