The Sinful Man (Psalm 36:1-7)

The evil man I see within,
A rebel, wicked, wreathed in sin,
Deceiving, evil, serving him,
Bring judgment on that wicked man!
He’s judged himself in flattery,
His mouth speaks but iniquity,
He turns then from integrity,
While on his bed he schemes and plans.
How sickening his wickedness,
His hatred born on righteousness,
He should be damned, to torture pressed –
Yet Lord, I am that wicked man!

Your covenant, oh Lord, is grace,
You’re faithful ever in Your ways,
And righteous in Your holy place,
Your goodness poured out unto us.
Your judgments then are every right,
Salvation putting sin to flight,
You broke the bonds that bound me tight,
You washed me, saved me, made me just.
I’m wicked then, like poison smote,
Yet You contain the antidote,
The word You spoke, You were, You wrote,
Is Jesus Christ, my only trust.