Fault (Psalm 39)

Must I not speak a word,
To keep myself from sin?
That I offend not God,
Or blaspheme before men.
For human language fails.
Our ear has never heard –
But God commands us speak,
And He became the Word.

How can I come to You?
I live but fleeting years,
My mortal, finite cry,
Will never reach Your ears.
For You forever Am,
But I will cease to be –
And yet the Spirit stands,
To intercede for me.

I hope in transience,
In vanity and dust.
The shadow of Your light,
Is all I bear to trust.
I justly should be slain,
For doubting in Your ways –
But You condemned Yourself,
And took my sinner’s place.

A dreadful guest am I,
Dependent on Your grace,
I’d quickly blow away,
Before Your frowning face.
I’m guilty, small, and damned,
Yet unto You I called –
The trial is adjourned,
You filled my every fault.