Deliverance (Psalm 40:8-17)

Why would I contend with the Lord, the All-Great?
Opposing His providence over the earth?
For it is Your good pleasure, not nebulous fate,
You’re personal, faithful, in all of Your works.

I was not ashamed to announce this the same,
Declaring Your love, and salvation, and truth –
How righteous, how gracious, how worthy Your name!
I glorify You though Your own attributes.

Without Your compassion – how desperate my plight!
My self-fashioned demons would swallow me whole.
I’m drowning, defeated, unable to fight,
I’m desperately pleading: deliver my soul!

Abandon me not! For my courage has failed,
I abandon myself to the cause of Your praise.
Apart from your aid I’d have never prevailed,
This flood of iniquity drown in Your grace!

You’re seated with power, with host to attend,
The might of Your armies no man’s eyes can see:
The myriad warriors deployed to defend,
These angels arrayed and Your bright panoply.

You’re pleased to deliver Your saints from distress,
You love to deploy Your battalions to save.
I pray then You hear me in Your righteousness,
Demolish those men who against You yet rave!

Let the saints of the Lord raise a victory cheer!
Extol all His greatness, and revel in Him.
Let that promise of triumph expel all my fear,
And bolster me now while I struggle with sin.