Generational Faith (Deuteronomy 4)

Lord, Thou hast called me by Thy grace,
Redeeming me from judgment’s hand,
Thy call to me has given place,
To call my children from the damned.
I trust Thy will to do,
Will save my family too.
Lord, give me strength to teach Thy ways,
And not neglect Thy clear command,
Not presupposing on Thy grace,
But training them with humble hands.
My greatest joy to see,
My children trusting Thee.

Lord, guide me to be quick to hear,
And follow in Thy sanctity,
That all my children, ever near,
May learn by what they see in me.
Oh, keep me in Thy ways,
That they not learn to stray!
Lord, when your enemy appears,
Within the house Thou gavest me,
Make strong my hands to crush and clear,
Those things which turn their hearts from Thee.
Lord, guide my hands to war,
Keep nothing left in store.

Lord, do not let my faith stagnate,
Regeneration ends in me.
But as headwaters that create,
A progeny that follows Thee.
For many generations still,
My offspring following Thy will.