The Cross to Cross the Gap

The cross is all sufficient, Lord,
I stand assured in it.
The blood of Christ alone restores,
His holiness my bridge:
A chasm spans between the Lord and I,
Without the cross to cross the gap, I die.

Through my pretending I disguise,
All of my sinful deeds.
I will not grow til I realize,
How desperate is my need.
I am depraved down to my deepest part,
And Your redemption must renew my heart.

No work of mine may make me right,
Nor change my helpless place.
Performance only blinds my sights,
And denigrates Your Grace.
Your holiness alone is what I see,
And freely You have given it to me.

You see how desperate is my need,
More than I think is so.
And You're more holy than I see,
Or mortal mind may know.
And yet You, Jesus, chose to condescend,
Your cross can bridge the gap from God to Men.