The Sanctuary (I Samuel 16:14-23)

Lord, let the sanctuary of my soul,
Be ever with Thy Spirit furnished full.
Lest left alone as if a home for let,
Some demon denizen sees my neglect.
My idleness invites the evil in,
My emptiness empowers me to sin.
With substances I substitute for Thee,
I fill my soul with foolish fantasy.
I crowd my crown with worldly wants and cares,
Ignoring Thy reality and prayer.

I sell my soul to Thee my Savior Christ,
Because Thou bought me at a bloody price.
My soul a residence where Thou might reign,
And dwelling, drive out all that's dead and maimed.
That I may walk within the Spirit's ways,
With my fulfillment found in faithful praise.
So capture every corner of my heart,
Leave for the sinister no single part.
Remake Thy righteous battlements in me,
That stalwart I may stand and stay with Thee.