Pleasure (Psalm 36:8-12)

You richly fill my wounded, aching soul,
I’m satisfied in all Your pleasures.
You, and only You, can make me full,
To satiate my heart forever.
You know me, as in Eden – stripped away,
The foul and brooding, primal curses,
World’s sensual surfeit scatters, as they day,
Of Your face every sin disperses.
Your purity as a crystal fountain flows,
The genesis of life and cleansing,
The light by which we see comes from Your throne,
Without You, there’s no sense or sensing.

Extend Your loving-kindness to the just,
To those who by Your blood are righteous,
Oh! burst the flood-gates of Your love on us,
And to Your Lordship ever tie us!
God, guard my heart from haughtiness and pride,
Nor let the wicked make me waver,
But let me ever in Your grace abide,
And all Your providences savor.
For pride has caused so many men to fall,
They clinch their fists and then are shattered.
Such reefs the flesh into our life installs,
And all their progeny is scattered.
You bring me safely through these awful snares,
And You have silenced death’s loud clamor,
I try to praise Your grace – so rich, so fair –
But all my skill is but a stammer.