Psalm 22: Never Forsaken

My God, my God, oh why?
Have you forsaken me?
Are you away and cannot aid?
Or hear my groaning plea?

Lord all the night I cry,
And also all the day.
Pray, was your ear bent forth to hear,
Enthroned of Isreal’s Praise?

Our fathers set a cry,
You saved them from their plight.
Yes, they did trust Jehovah just,
You made them stand upright.

Yet like a worm am I,
Reproachful unto men.
At me they mock and sneering scoff,
Despised as dirt to them.

They say, “He trusted, see!
Then let God rescue him!
He trusted God – a frail facade,
Does God delight in him?”

Did You not form my mind?
And claim me as I nursed?
While in the womb, my God was true,
He caused and kept my birth.

O Lord, Great Adonai,
My trouble now is near.
Lord, do not leave or me bereave,
When everything looks drear.

Though death may face my eye,
And beasts of hell come haunt,
Yet I will laugh and joy still clasp,
Though all my bones pull taunt.

The dogs and bulls in might,
Encompass me around.
My limbs they piece with anger fierce,
And lift me from the ground.

Yet though my body die,
I’ll always trust in thee.
In you is life, my God – my Christ.
You bled to rescue me.

You were the one despised.
You took it in my stead.
I need not fear, Lord, you do hear,
Forsakenness is dead.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.